Recent VA Golf Course Reviews


4Aces
Severn, MD
321 Reviews
  
Again...pristine! They are getting the course ready for the LPGA tournament in May and the fairways were exceptional, the greens firm and fast, and the rough brutal! Under new management (as of March 2015), the new management is very familiar with golf resorts and tournaments. It already shows in the attention and care of the courses. Stay at Kingsmill and experience their two resort courses.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: April 9, 2017


4Aces
Severn, MD
321 Reviews
Kiskiack Golf Club of Williamsburg, VA
  
My annual visit to Kiskiack. I just like the layout of this course, and the fairways and greens were in great shape. The greens were running pretty fast for this early in the season. I still have issues with the bunkers...a lot of erosion on the sides, and very thin on sand. They had a fair amount of rain the previous two days, so I will cut them some slack; however, they could have run the rake through them quickly to try and even them out a bit.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: April 7, 2017 | Cost: $54


pittfaninmd
Essex, MD
88 Reviews
  
Course was in good shape. Greens are firm and lightning fast right now. Many of the stacked sod bunkers have been removed and replaced with traditional sloped bunkers. I love this golf course and would recommend to everyone

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: November 26, 2016 | Cost: $38


4Aces
Severn, MD
321 Reviews
Brickshire, The Golf Club at of Providence Forge, VA
  
Haven't played this course in probably 6-7 years. In great condition! Fairways were green (for the most part) and nicely mowed--there was a clear delineation between fairway and rough. The rough was thick and coarse and your ball sunk to the roots, so be careful and track your ball in flight so you know where to look...otherwise you won't find it! I saw a few muddy bunkers, but most were in good condition. Unfortunately, the front nine took a little over 3 hours. There were several groups on a package and unfamiliar with the course layout, so they were in the trees, ravines and, of course, in the long rough, so they searched long and a lot for balls. We were able to speed up on the back and made up some time to finish in 5 hours. Greens were in good shape, as well. This is a really nice layout, with extremely wide fairways on many holes. Just watch the slope and roll, because it can be severe. With the Tee Time Book, it was only $30...a deal for this course.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: November 7, 2016 | Cost: $30


Hawski
Arlington, VA
58 Reviews
1757 Golf Club of Dulles, VA
  
A rare treat playing 1757 in October. A close friend had booked a Tee Time for our party on Weds AM, with temps in the low 70's what an amazing treat. Played this course over the years, and the Billy Casper's Group certainly has Customer Service down to a science. Unfortunately, the Driving Range was closed for maintenance, the overall experience on this course is 5 stars.. From the Fairways, Bunkers and Greens, this is a spectacular and well maintained course. The Beverage Cart Girl, was a cut above most High Ended courses around the area. If you want an amazing experience with friends or clients, 1757 is the place to entertain all.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: November 2, 2016 | Cost: $49.00


ksphipps01@aol.com
Reston, VA
1 Reviews
Virginia Oaks Golf Club of Gainesville, VA
  
This more of a comment than a review. Has Virginia Oaks Management ever fixed the leaking water on the back side of the course. I forgot the hole that it was on...but it was leaking water for at least a year.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: October 14, 2016


Hawski
Arlington, VA
58 Reviews
Old Hickory Golf Club of Woodbridge, VA
  
What happened to Old Hickory?
Cost: Used the Tee Time Golf Pass
Overall Review Rating: Fairways and Bunkers require major repairs

Course Review: The course needs major maitenance. We noticed brown or dirt spots on most of the fairways. On several holes, huge dirt spots in the middle of the fairway was visible. Bunkers had errosion issues, with some having standing water. No beverage cart service was available.


Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: August 24, 2016 | Cost: $55.00


4Aces
Severn, MD
321 Reviews
Kiskiack Golf Club of Williamsburg, VA
  
Played on Thursday morning and then again today (Saturday). On Thursday, the bunkers on the back were in really bad shape. However, they did some work on most of the bunkers and they were in much better condition, except for two holes which showed a lot of severe erosion. (They had a shotgun tournament go off at 8:00 am this morning, so I guess recovered all they could.) Fairways in good shape, as are the greens, although they are a little slow. Always nice in the pro shop. Really like this course and always a good option while in Williamsburg.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: August 13, 2016 | Cost: $40


4Aces
Severn, MD
321 Reviews
Attended the annual tournament and played a practice round as well. My previous review stands with regard to the beauty, views of the Chesapeake Bay, and the staff. The difference for me this year was that the course had a few more dirt spots than last year, and had pebbles in the bunkers, especially on #18. It scarred my SW (but, I know I shouldn't have been in it to begin with). Greens were really hard to read--by the end, I just putted to the hole vs. anticipating any break. It was just easier. Great course, and I like the Palmer better than the Nickolas.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: June 22, 2016


Hawski
Arlington, VA
58 Reviews
Bristow Manor Golf Club of Bristow, VA
  
Before I start my review. A close friend wanted to play on Fathers Day with his Dad and invited me along, and we did realize it could be a slow round.
Cost: Weekend Rate: $65.00
Greens: Not the best conditions, but it was good enough for 3 stars
Fairways: Several Holes, the Fairways had either water damage, and dirt spots
Bunkers: Dirt
Beverage Cart: Very friendly person, however all she had was drinks and snacks. Correction, a few bags of crackers and chips.

Overall: When we checked in for our Tee Time, the Pro Shop told us to speak to the starter who would get us out. We did, several times, since he would ask - Who are you and what time is your Tee Time? Anyway, we were playing behind a threesome, who believed they were at the US Open and decided to hit from the Tips. Issue: They were spraying the ball all over the place and on every shot looking for loss balls. Regardless, it was a slow round. When we made the turn, the threesome were upset two guys appeared in front of them. Apparently, they claim starter sent them on the back, since the front was stacked. Please note: When heading to the 10th Tee, a huge sign is posted saying, If you are not making the turn, DO NOT TEE OFF ON THE BACK. We did see a Marshall, riding around, but it looked like he was talking to his friends or under a tree for shade.

This place is not worth the aggrevation.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: June 19, 2016 | Cost: $65.00