Recent NY Golf Course Reviews


KevinE
Dudley, MA
6 Reviews
Van Patten Golf Course of Clifton Park, NY
  
Located about 15 miles north of Albany. A golfing experience, that should be enjoyed by all. Staff was friendly, accommodating. Pro Shop was average size, but the clubhouse beautiful and immense. Arrived to a jam packed parking lot. Being a 27 hole facility, tee times were well managed between the 3 9's. Course offered a wide variety of holes. Some with wide expansive fairways, others tighter with trees and hazards on both sides. Drivers off the tee, sometimes and sometimes not. Fairway conditions were near perfect, as were the rough and sand traps. Greens were very large, undulating and fast. Noyta blemish on them, unusual for Public Courses, where ball mark repair can be a lost art. Pace of play was around 5 hours, on an extremely busy track.Highly recommended for all levels of golfers.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: October 17, 2016 | Cost: $55.00


KevinE
Dudley, MA
6 Reviews
Eagle Crest Golf Club of Clifton Park, NY
  
Eagle Crest was an exceptional golfing experience. Course was in superb conditions. Fairways were well manicured. Greens were pristine. Rolled fast and true. Played on a Saturday afternoon, pace of play was more than reasonable. Beverage cart was readily available. Pro shop was small but well stocked with all a golfer's needs. Being an outsider and first time player at the Eagle, staff was courteous and helpful with a local knowledge. Green Fees were a bargain, a $60 to $70 course in my home area. A 2 1/2 hour drive for me, but would return in a heartbeat. I would recommend The Eagle to any golfer, regardless of their handicap, fair and challenging to anyone. Was a true joy to play.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: July 23, 2016 | Cost: $49.00


elysee
Johnson City, NY
1 Reviews
Dimmock Hill Golf Course of Binghamton, NY
  
The golf course is following the same path of the city, down hill. You are not allow to drive the carts to the parking lot to load or unload your golf bag. Carts are fuel powered, and seats are ripped, moldy, and brakes not working properly. You are asked to leave a refundable $2.00 key deposit. Tee boxes, fairways, and greens are in need of extensive care. The golf course design is awkward, and in one hole you have to tee off towards, and play under, high voltage power lines. The yardage is not accurate. The par 4 holes could be par 3, and the only par 5 could be a par 4. There are no markers either. The $23.00 fee can be used to play other golf courses where you can play in safety and where your money is used to offer you an enjoyable golf day...even if you a bad round. It seems the owner has not invested in up keeping, much less in improvements. I would tell you, stay away from this one.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: August 22, 2015 | Cost: $23


nathanielsmith1
Syracuse, NY
1 Reviews
Foxfire at Village Green of Baldwinsville, NY
  
Unbelievably terrible service! Just moved to Syracuse from NYC three weeks ago. Called and booked tee time, told me course schedule was "wide open" all day. Arrived at course to discover tournament was scheduled. Went to tee off and discovered 3 groups of 4 waiting to tee off ahead of me. Asked manager for refund or rain check, he was extremely rude and reluctant. He tried to tell me there was no tournament going on. There was a putting, closest to hole and long drive contest plus a tournament sign. I've played golf for over 20 years and know a tournament when I see one. He then had the audacity to tell me "this ain't New York City kid." First of all, I grew up in St. Lawrence County, second of all I'm close to 30 and not a "kid." Manager finally gave me a rain check but was a coward and would not even look me in the eye.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: June 8, 2013 | Cost: $35


theedge103
Lockport, NY
1 Reviews
Had a great day on the links today, this course was not on my radar but found it on Google after a search for something different. It's a 27 hole course with a pretty nice Clubhouse. The greens were in great shape, I played quite well even. We sat by the lake on the patio to enjoy a few beers and some wings when we were done. A great day, we had a wonderful time and finished up before the bad rains today!

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: June 1, 2013 | Cost: $35


wineguy
White Plains, NY
2 Reviews
Lake Isle Country Club of Eastchester, NY
  
Lake Isle is a semi-private course owned by the town of Eastchester. As such it is a cross between a private club and a muni. With that said, this course used to be a private country club.

Even though it is a membership club, the do open up some tee times for public golfing so check and see what's available.

The course is fairly short (under 6000 yds) and has little water that comes into play -- a few swampy areas off to the sides on a few holes, a creek that flows through a few and water on 17 which is easily avoided with careful shot planning.

The layout of this course makes it one of the most walkable I have ever played. And this course is really able to fit well to almost all abilities. In fact many people mistakenly think the course is short and easy. However, many holes require accurate shot placement and skilled putting. This is a great course to learn on but also great for the advance player to hone skills.

Now up until a few years ago this curse had a bad reputation. The fairways and greens were terrible from what I heard. The town had basically done all the maintenance, and the last people touching a golf course should be "the department of public works." So 2 years ago the membership brought in a professional golf course maintenance company and voila...the place is beautiful. Lush, well groomed fairways, terrific, fast greens and tee boxes that don't look like weeds growing out of a sandbox.

Add to that that after Sandy and the winter storms the maintenance crew removed something like 45 trees and cleaned up major storm damage and this place looks (and plays) like a private club.

Now that's the good, but there are a few quibbles I hope will be addressed soon. First the sand traps. Replace the sand please. Looks like they scooped it from the beach and threw it down. It's hard, full of small stones and just really rough. If they put some nice soft sand in there they would have 5 stars all the way.

The other thing they need (and supposedly it's in the works) is some sort of sports bar/19th hole. The snack bar by the pool area doesn't suffice and the pro-shop/clubhouse has a great underused area in the back with a beautiful deck area that would be perfect for the after golf crowd. Because face it...the best part of golf is relaxing with and ice cold beer after a, 85-degree round.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: May 14, 2013 | Cost: $50-80


medfly
Endwell, NY
1 Reviews
Genegantslet Golf Club of Greene, NY
  
I like this course a lot. Front nine is open and a great warmup, as the back nine is lengthy and tougher. The course has some nice risk reward holes, and also has some just grip it and rip challenges. The greens are accepting of shots, readable and very fair. Had a great time on the course, then a very affordable and delicious burger in the club house afterwards. Great Value!

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: November 12, 2012 | Cost: $25


mikeman157
East Aurora, NY
1 Reviews
  
What you pay is what you get at this course. It is a typical public golf course that isn't in too great of shape and is relatively short and easy. The greens are in decent shape and are all pretty flat. The service is average, nothing special about it.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: October 24, 2012 | Cost: $15


wineguy
White Plains, NY
2 Reviews
Beekman Country Club of Hopewell Junction, NY
  
I've seen this course listed mistakenly as a 9-hole course. It is actually a 27 hole course broken up into 3 x 9-holes. This allows you to choose different combinations to change things up a bit. It also allows you to speed things up by moving to a different 9-hole course if there is a back-up on one.

I went last fall when the leaves were changing and the course is very nice. Meanders amongst beautiful homes and up onto the hilltop where you have a spectacular view.

This course can be challenging with some water and uneven terrain, but overall any ability can play this course and enjoy it.

The conditions were very good overall, but not a place that you enter from the street and think "wow..how beautiful." The entrance is more like that of a drive-in movie theater with a large utilitarian clubhouse where you can get a decent lunch. The cost is very reasonable as well. This place is for golf..not for showing off your club to your friends, so don't expect gorgeous landscaping or service-oriented staff. Just good golf, great mountaintop views and fun with some friends.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: October 12, 2012 | Cost: $50


bmjustice
Webster, NY
1 Reviews
Churchville Golf Course of Churchville, NY
  
This course is definitely below average. I did 18 holes and had a hard time playing with the fast greens and bad fairways. I haven't been long but I can tell this course isn't the greatest. The staff seemed nice, but I will probably find somewhere else to go.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: October 9, 2012 | Cost: $17