Recent MD Golf Course Reviews


4Aces
Severn, MD
321 Reviews
Northwest Park Golf Course of Silver Spring, MD
  
Similar review as previous years...pretty good condition. The pace of play, though, continues to be an issue...4 hrs. 45 mins. and it didn't need to be. Like the course, but pace unfortunately is a deterrent for future play.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: October 7, 2017 | Cost: $65


pittfaninmd
Essex, MD
84 Reviews
Lake Presidential Golf Club of Upper Marlboro, MD
  
Almost one year after I swore I wouldn't come back I did, and unfortunately it was the same result. Greens were great and if it wasn't for dead spots I would have given a 5 rating. Fairways and tees were uncut and shaggy where there was grass, but many bare and dead spots exist, 2 fairways were used as sod farms with just exposed bare earth left. Roughs were plain horrible,either bare spots or it was so thick you couldn't even find your ball. Many bunkers washed out with only hardpan remaining. Needless to say I won't be back

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: August 20, 2017 | Cost: $60


4Aces
Severn, MD
321 Reviews
Waverly Woods Golf Club of Marriottsville, MD
  
Tee Time Book has a special--4 players on Saturday before Noon for $64/player (vs. $79 rack rate). That is a deal for this course! Course, as usual, in excellent condition. Fairways are lush and perfectly mowed, the bunkers are nice thick sand (don't have to worry about hitting hard pan underneath), and the greens are fast and nicely manicured. For a Saturday morning, I was surprised how nice the pace of play was--we finished in about 4 hrs. 20 mins. This course requires some course management, strategic shots, and hitting the fairways. Select the proper tees as the sloping fairways, deep rough, and fast undulating greens will give you all you can handle. Excellent condition and a must play!

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: July 22, 2017 | Cost: $64


4Aces
Severn, MD
321 Reviews
The Woodlands of Windsor Mill, MD
  
Low rating because of ground bees on 16 out of 18 greens! They had bored holes with sand mounds all over the greens, and there were just hordes of bees flying all around. You had to use bug spray to spray them directly just to walk to and from and on the green. The course should spray for these--they are damaging the greens and are annoying to players. They were also in several bunkers. Other than that, the course seemed to be in pretty good shape--they were watering when we were there. Most of the fairways are in good condition and the rough has not yet started to brown out. We had an early tee time so were done in 3.3 hrs.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: July 17, 2017 | Cost: $35


pittfaninmd
Essex, MD
84 Reviews
  
Course is in great shape from tee to green. Only 4 star rating on the greens due to lack of speed,rolled smoothly though. Great layout with a nice bar and deck and attached restaurant

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: July 8, 2017 | Cost: $45


4Aces
Severn, MD
321 Reviews
  
I haven't played this course in 12-13 years. What a pleasure!! It was in fabulous condition, from tee to green and everything in between. I've read several less-than-favorable reviews on this course, and I just don't get it! From the time we drove into the parking lot until we left, the staff treated us like royalty...bag drop, pro shop, starter, and restaurant. The course was pretty quiet--maybe the 95 degree weather had something to do with it--but we basically had the course to ourselves. Excellent, excellent condition! It was $49 w/the Tee Time Book and that was a steal. I can't wait to go back. What a treat!

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: June 12, 2017 | Cost: $49


4Aces
Severn, MD
321 Reviews
Black Rock Golf Course of Hagerstown, MD
  
Same review of course conditions as last year--great fairways and greens, rough a tad long and thick, and great vistas. The bunkers were inconsistent this time--some with great sand, and others with a hard base and about 1/4 inch dirt, which was hard to get out of. I have the same complaint as last year...slow play and no marshals. There was no one hardly there, but we hit the wall on #3 and waited on every shot from there on in. There were two slow foursomes in front of us, but couldn't see anyone in front of them. A marshal could have resolved this issue. Not sure why they don't fix this small problem. Great layout...really like this course, but I'll wait a while to go back.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: June 3, 2017 | Cost: $51


4Aces
Severn, MD
321 Reviews
Clustered Spires Golf Course of Frederick, MD
  
On Memorial Day, was $46 with the Tee Time Book. That's a good deal! However, I'm not sure it was enough to make up for the slow, slow, SLOW pace of play. It was just over 5 hrs. We didn't tee until after 11:00 (knowing people would play early to get to afternoon cookouts), but they were all stacked up. This course should consider 10 min tee times vs the 8 min they have. They don't marshal and they don't push people who get out of position. Course was in excellent condition, except the rough was SO LONG you couldn't find your ball! They hadn't cut it, they said, due to rain; however, it was almost unplayable. That coupled with people playing from the tips who only hit their drive 150-180 yards (even on par 3's) just made for a terrible day. I don't think I can handle a weekend again! They keep the course in tip-top shape--now they have to learn how to manage it for a reasonable time to play!

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: May 29, 2017 | Cost: $46


4Aces
Severn, MD
321 Reviews
  
Now renamed Richland, I haven't played this course in over 3 years, and certainly not since it changed owners. The fairways are in great shape, but it was cart path only today due to the extreme amount of rain they have received over the past couple of days. As a result, the bunkers were either holding water, or had a lot of erosion of the side walls...the bunkers were almost unplayable. What surprised me, though, were the greens. They were fast, but I was somewhat puzzled by the look of them. They looked like they had a dark fungus starting, but upon closer inspection it showed that wasn't the case. I honestly don't know what was wrong with them. They had dark splotches throughout the greens. It didn't seem to impede the roll of the ball--it just didn't look pristine. Not sure what's going on there. With the Tee Time Book, you have $10 off (off the normal $55 weekend rate) and the course is certainly worth that price. Unfortunately, they overbooked my tee time (5 booked...2 + 3), so it ended up jamming up the tee times. But, we began to stretch out on the back and finished in under 5 hours. We'll certainly try the course again during the Summer.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: May 27, 2017 | Cost: $45


ronel
Brooklyn Curtis, MD
367 Reviews
  
Hollow Creek is reopened as Richland. New owners are making a strong effort rehabbing this outstanding layout. Fairways are coming along well. Greens are generally in excellent condition with a few spotty areas. Traps still need a little work. This course is a tough course and it is good to see that is getting back in shape. It's in the T-Time book at $26.00.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: March 30, 2017 | Cost: $26