Recent MA Golf Course Reviews


KevinE
Dudley, MA
6 Reviews
Marlborough Country Club of Marlborough, MA
  
Immaculate. A private Country Club, opened to the public on Mondays and Tuesdays. Old style layout, with rough, tree lined, elevation changes and strategic bunkering. Course was pristine. Staff was accommodating and friendly. Greens were fast and true, fairways were carpet like. The word from the club pro before the round, was keep it below the hole. Truer words were never spoken. Nicest course I have played in a long, long time. Food after was delicious . I would recommend to anyone ever in the area on a Monday or Tuesday, to get yourself a tee time and enjoy golf the way it is supposed to be played.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: June 27, 2017 | Cost: $80.00


KevinE
Dudley, MA
6 Reviews
  
Blackstone National is one of the nicest tracks in my immediate area. The attendant in the Pro shop, was very helpful in finding the most economic value for our foursome. Blackstone offers a Blackstone card for $199. Which entitles you to 14 buy 1 get 1 rounds for the year plus many other perks. Two of us in our foursome possessed the card, so the green fees were cut in half. Was a super savings, and value. Playing from the blue tees, with a rating of 73.5 and a challenging 134 slope. the course is demanding. Fairways are paramount. Some holes require a grip and rip driver, others leave that choice entirely up to you. I choice the driver on most occasions, won a few and lost a few. Fairways are a must. The New England wooded landscape sneaks up on you in a hurry. Fairways are gently sloped left to right, right to left, some uphill others down. The second shot seems to me to be the most important. The greens are large, but majority of the greens are like 3 or 4 greens in one. Depending on pin placement, the greens in regulation stat is somewhat tainted. You may hit the green, but leave yourself with a 40 foot double breaker, starting uphill then bend left or right, and slide downhill in a hurry. The greens were as good as can be expected for early April after a New England winter. They were cut, rolled and the lines held true. They were somewhat speedy, but I suspect by July they will be lightning. Greens, Fairways and the course in general was in top shape. The ride from greens to tee boxes, take you through of the areas most scenic natural displays. Wildlife in the woods and wetlands abound. Once the wildflowers, fauna and leaves have all popped, I'm sure the scenery only improves. That being said, I am also sure the fairways tighten up even ,ore once the oaks and maples have all leafed out. If the reader is in the Sutton Massachusetts area, just south of Worcester, I highly recommend a round at Blackstone. I am certain you won't be disappointed.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: April 18, 2017 | Cost: $70.00


Bob7627
Montgomery, MA
1 Reviews
Shaker Farms Country Club of Westfield, MA
  
The conditions need work, the fairway i almost lost a shoe in it because it was so wet. Tee boxes were so hard i thought a root was under where I hit. Staff was very friendly. I asked to know about the coarse and they offered to take me around, a cart kid actually joined me in golf and i enjoyed the friendliness and company. There wasn't a beer cart, only a water station every 4ish holes, i definitely would recommend taking something to drink from the pro shop. Decent food but discount type soda. Overall good course.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: June 7, 2014 | Cost: $23


jbh
Byfield, MA
4 Reviews
Black Swan Country Club of Georgetown, MA
  
Great course

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: August 11, 2013 | Cost: $62


nikiig@yahoo.com
Sudbury, MA
1 Reviews
  
Crowded unmanaged, they run outings on Saturdays during the summer, what does that tell you. Tee boxes are in horrible shape, greens are nice, fairways in good shape
Pace of play is maddening they just dont police it or manage it, they jam up people instead of spacing them and then the ranger when he is around does nothing to improve pace of play. We play every weekend in the summer and thought we would give this course one more try and what a mistake it was.

Try Cape Cod Country Club or Quashnet Valley both much better courses and great pace of play

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: July 13, 2013 | Cost: $65


wammer753
1 Reviews
Hopedale Country Club of Hopedale, MA
  
Played here a few times and even though I love the course and it is beautiful to play here, I might not recommmend it. The course is full of townies from Milford and Hopedale and if you aren't one of them, you're going to have a bad time. I was treated poorly by the staff and the golf times vary according to when they want to let you play and when they want to let the townies play. Stories about being denied golfing because they were 20 minutes from when they weren't supposed to golf to members having times they can play vary by when "leagues" (townies) are playing. The course itself is beautiful and very, very, very well maintained, but the people there are just awful and it drives many people to other courses. I would reccomend it, but don't expect to go there, spend $100 to play 9 holes and be treated like a king.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: May 1, 2013 | Cost: $20


jdagati5
Reading, MA
1 Reviews
Middleton Golf Course of Middleton, MA
  
I really enjoy the Middleton Golf Course. I come here quite often since its right near my house and I always play good. The grass is always perfect and its a beautiful course. The staff was so friendly and the staff at lunch was great. Everyone here is always so helpful. I am always telling people to use this course and they tell me they really love it too. Great course with great people.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: November 26, 2012 | Cost: $54


jlleighton
Leominster, MA
2 Reviews
  
I found the course to be really beautiful, especially green despite the drought-like conditions we've had in the area this summer. Where other courses have been suffering with dry spots and dirt patches, the Butternut Farm course was really especially well kept. Prices were reasonable and the narrow fairways made it a little challenging but still accessible for us "novices." All in all, a really pleasant course to play.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: July 2, 2012 | Cost: $62.


mudd024
North Billerica, MA
1 Reviews
Country Club Of Billerica of Billerica, MA
  
This is a great course, the staff is amazing and the place is run very professionally, I would recommend this place to anyone that loves golfing at a world class place. for only $45 you get to play 18 holes and get a cart. Also they have some of the best food in New England!!

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: May 30, 2012 | Cost: $45


jlleighton
Leominster, MA
2 Reviews
Monoosnock Country Club of Leominster, MA
  
This is really a hidden gem of a golf course in Leominster. With 9 holes, it is a great "starter" course for someone looking to hone their skills without the frustration of a higher level pro course. The facilities are always well kept, and the course on the day we played was lovely thanks to some much-needed rain during the week!

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: May 12, 2012 | Cost: $24