Recent GA Golf Course Reviews


thegolfinguy
Lakeland, FL
37 Reviews
Forest Hills Golf Club of Augusta, GA
  
Augusta, GA is certainly a well-known golf destination. Outside of that course that very few will ever have the privilege of playing, there are a number of great local tracks that the public does have access to. One of these courses is Forest Hills Golf Course, an 18-hole Donald Ross masterpiece that has been repeatedly named “Best Public Course” by Augusta Magazine.

Ross designed Forest Hills in 1926, and then in 1984, the Arnold Palmer Company redesigned several holes to accommodate construction of the Augusta University Athletic Complex. In 2004, the course was restored to its original design and has remained that way ever since.

There’s a lot of history behind Forest Hills; it’s where Bobby Jones started his Grand Slam of Golf in 1930. It’s also home to the 2010 NCAA Division I National Champions Augusta University Men’s and Women’s Jaguar Golf Teams, a feat which the Men’s Team repeated again in 2011. Several PGA Tour Professionals also played here during their college careers including Phil Michelson and Davis Love III.

Men can choose to play from 5 different sets of tees ranging from 7,140 yards (course rating 74.3 and a slope of 137) to 5,098 (65.3/115). Most guys will find that the White Tees (6,183/70.1/126) will provide them with enough of a challenge that they can still leave with a little dignity. Most women here play from the Silver Tees (5,098/69.9/121). No matter your skill level, just choose the tees that are right for your game and you’ll have a great time.

The golf course at Forest Hills features a variety of holes, some straight, some turn to the right and others dogleg to the left. Water only comes into play on the two par 3 holes on the back, other than that, there’s no wet stuff to worry about. The greens are not too fast and roll true.

Memorable Holes (All Yardage from the White Tees)
Number 1: Par 4, 383 yards. This gently winding dogleg right that plays downhill and features a variety of trees on the right side including dogwoods, magnolias and pines and a sparse pine forest on the left. The green is fronted by a single bunker that guards the front right side of the green and slopes gently from back to front with a lot of undulation. A middle pin position can lead to low scores so be sure to check the pin sheet.

Number 5: Par 4, 351 yards. From the White Tees, a good drive down the right side will easily clear the fairway bunker and can lead to a low score. Others can choose to play out to the right and short of the fairway bunker on the right and then hit a layup shot over it and short of the deep bunker that guards the right side of the green. This is a pretty golf hole.

Number 6: Par 5, 487 yards. This is perhaps the most scenic hole on the golf course. It starts off with a blind tee shot, slightly uphill. Trees line each side of the fairway, creating a narrow passage way and a lone fairway bunker guards the right side off the tee. I’m sure it sees its fair share of balls. Your second shot plays downhill and is also blind and leaves an approach shot to a smaller two-tiered green. There’s not a lot of trouble on this hole, just hit three solid shots to get there and it’s easy!

Number 11: Par 5, 535 yards. This monster par 5 plays straight downhill, with fairway bunker left and trees to the right off the tee. Number 11 also features some unique grass mounding in the middle and right side of the fairway that needs to be avoided on your layup shot. Two fairway bunkers sit about 40 yards short of the green, awaiting any short approach shots. The green is oddly shaped and has a lot of undulation in it. Par is good.

Number 16: Par 3, 159 yards. For a hole that’s pretty straight forward, this one can give you fits. Number 16 plays over water and slightly uphill, perhaps a half to one club longer than normal. Short is better than long as there is plenty of room in front of the green, which is flanked by bunkers on both sides. Anything over the green makes for a tough up and down.

Number 18: Par 4, 286 yards. It’s not often that a golf course ends with the easiest hole on the course but that is exactly what Forest Hills does. Your toughest chore on this hole is to keep your tee shot in the fairway as it can get very narrow in the landing area. A good tee shot will leave a short pitch to a large green with bunkers front, left and right and trees long.

Last Word: Forest Hills offers a good time for golfers of all ages and abilities with wide open fairways, magnificent trees and putting greens that roll fair and true. From the back tees, Forest Hills will challenge even the best of players and the five sets of tees make it playable for any level of golfer. With all of the pine trees, rolling terrain and not much water, Forest Hills has a Carolina Sandhills feel to it.

Before your round, be sure to visit the driving range, where you can hit every club in the bag prior to your round. There’s also a bar and grill to celebrate in after your round as well as banquet facilities.

If you live in the Augusta area or plan on spending a good deal of time there, Forest Hills offers eight different membership plans, so there is something to suite everyone. All memberships include green fees, complimentary usage of the driving range and a two-week advance booking on tee times. They also receive a 15% discount on merchandise other than golf clubs, golf balls, and Augusta University Jaguars gear.

If you plan on being in the area that magical Master weekend in April, be sure to book your round early at Forest Hills. They are running some great Masters Week Packages which include greens fees, cart, range balls and a boxed lunch, all for one low price. You’ll also see some great specials on pro shop merchandise.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: March 1, 2018


Chewy
Baltimore, MD
138 Reviews
Innsbruck Golf Club of Helen, GA
  
Located in Helen Georgia, a truly awesome German town in the north Georgia mountains. Hundreds of tiny shops, great food, a beer garden, and a lazy river for the wife and kids because it will take the same amount of time to complete as your round, oh and they have zip lines too. After you stop at one of the fine cigar shops in town and grab some really discounted sticks including Fuente Anjos get ready for some great golf. This course is always in really good shape and the only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because they could do so much more. I have been coming here for 6 years now and they restaurant still has a very small menu, limited and over priced drinks, the pro shop is crap and over priced. Like I said they could do so much with this place and make their money off volume rather than bang out a few people a day. The practice area needs a little work as well. Ok so the layout is awesome, and beautiful, and challenging. You are going to love this place but dont expect a great score your first time, this is one of those places that need to be played a few times because they dont have gps, and many hidden screw you turns that will jack your score up quick.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: September 7, 2016 | Cost: $36


Chewy
Baltimore, MD
138 Reviews
Brasstown Valley Resort of Young Harris, GA
  
I love this course it is one of the most beautiful and scenic courses you will find. The course is well maintained, it is very challenging, the staff is friendly and very helpful. The only problem with this place is it is out in the middle of nowhere. I'm simply updating my review of this place in case anyone is visiting maybe the Helen GA area and looking for a place to play. This course is much higher than most in the area but trust me it is worth every penny and then some. Make sure you ask for a yardage book because you are going to need it.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: September 5, 2016 | Cost: $85


Chewy
Baltimore, MD
138 Reviews
Butternut Creek Golf Course of Blairsville, GA
  
Great course, friendly staff, and well maintained, that is what we are always looking for right? Nothing really special about this place to note other than you will be hard pressed to find something to complain about. I have played this course a few times over the past few years and I'm yet to see it in any shape less than above average, so that is always a plus.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: September 4, 2016 | Cost: $35


Chewy
Baltimore, MD
138 Reviews
The Georgia Club of Statham, GA
  
In all my years of playing golf (30), I have never walked away from a course thinking a stole something than I did on this day. I've played Beth Page for $40, Pebble for $100, & Pinehurst #2 for $50 but this was the steal of my career. Ok like a bunch of Country Clubs in Georgia they built and opened them too fast and then the country tanked and everyone was broke. Well now you have places like the Georgia Club, semi=private, more public than private. The course is beautiful, well designed, and challenging but not in a way that is so hard it is stupid. The facilities are top notch while most of the locker room is closed to members only and you need a key code I was able to sneak a peak. The members get treated very well and so do the guest from a friendly and knowledgeable staff. The food is very good and so is the selection. The pro shop is filled with awesome deals you would think you are shopping on Amazon or something. The practice area is great and the course is wide open for the most part so you can grip and rip. They offer 27 challenging holes, we played black and silver on this day because the red course was being worked on. This course is located just miles off I85 and not too far from Athens and maybe 35 minutes from Atlanta. If you are ever in the area for any reason you really need to check this place out. I have no doubt in my mind this course would run $125 to $150 in the MidAtlantic region, it blows the doors off Bulle Rock & Lake Presidential in Maryland to give you an idea, yeah I said blows the door off.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: September 1, 2016 | Cost: $38


Chewy
Baltimore, MD
138 Reviews
The Georgia Club of Statham, GA
  
In all my years of playing golf (30), I have never walked away from a course thinking a stole something than I did on this day. I've played Beth Page for $40, Pebble for $100, & Pinehurst #2 for $50 but this was the steal of my career. Ok like a bunch of Country Clubs in Georgia they built and opened them too fast and then the country tanked and everyone was broke. Well now you have places like the Georgia Club, semi=private, more public than private. The course is beautiful, well designed, and challenging but not in a way that is so hard it is stupid. The facilities are top notch while most of the locker room is closed to members only and you need a key code I was able to sneak a peak. The members get treated very well and so do the guest from a friendly and knowledgeable staff. The food is very good and so is the selection. The pro shop is filled with awesome deals you would think you are shopping on Amazon or something. The practice area is great and the course is wide open for the most part so you can grip and rip. They offer 27 challenging holes, we played black and silver on this day because the red course was being worked on. This course is located just miles off I85 and not too far from Athens and maybe 35 minutes from Atlanta. If you are ever in the area for any reason you really need to check this place out. I have no doubt in my mind this course would run $125 to $150 in the MidAtlantic region, it blows the doors off Bulle Rock & Lake Presidential in Maryland to give you an idea, yeah I said blows the door off.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: September 1, 2016 | Cost: $38


Chewy
Baltimore, MD
138 Reviews
Apple Mountain Resort of Clarkesville, GA
  
Apple Mountain is one of many hidden gems in the North Georgia Mountain region. The course like many around there are never busy so play is fast and the course is always well maintained. In the mid atlantic region this would no doubt be a 70 to $90 track so the value is there as well. There are plenty of challenging holes but nothing to overwhelm you. Staff is friendly, they also offer food and drinks as well.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: August 31, 2016 | Cost: $30


bkb1288
1 Reviews
Wanee Lake Country Club of Ashburn, GA
  
Awesome time!!!!!!The staff was great!!Challenging course and beautiful scenery!!

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: July 19, 2014 | Cost: $18.00


Buzzeng
Arlington, VA
31 Reviews
The Club At Savannah Harbor of Savannah, GA
  
A Troon course that is as nice as expected. Very friendly staff (including one of the best course introductions I've seen by a starter!). Nice driving range (even with some fans for hot days like today) with lots of space hitting off grass and lots of targets. Practice green rolls just like the course. Tee boxes in good shape and fairways were clean. Front nine is tougher, with a good mix of long, short and in-between holes. Several have a "hook" approach to the green, making for a risk-reward approach shot. Course was very quiet, but it was a very hot Tuesday, late morning course. Even so, finished the round in short order. Did not try the clubhouse.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: August 13, 2013 | Cost: $45


ChipY
Atlanta, GA
1 Reviews
The conditioning of this course is top notch. The course is gorgeous and extremely well maintained. It put Country Club of the South to shame. Green are well maintained, but too many amateurs/poor ethics players does increase the ball marks on the greens. The fairways are pristine. The course itself doesn't have much water in play, save a gorgeous island green on 17, but makes up for it with deep, fluffy bunkers placed strategically in fairways and around greens. If you cant enjoy golf here, you shouldn't play.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: June 30, 2013 | Cost: $85