Recent CT Golf Course Reviews


ben
Waterford, CT
3 Reviews
Quarry Ridge Golf Club of Portland, CT
  
great course, nice staff, conditions were good, great time of year to play

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: September 16, 2016 | Cost: $31


GearmanKen
Cromwell, CT
4 Reviews
Long Hill Country Club of East Hartford, CT
  
This was once upon a time one of the best courses around. Unfortunately, this fairy tale does not have a happy ending. It has been takin over by "MDM Golf", which is the kiss of death to any golf course. As they are ruining Keney Park GC, Goodwin GC, and now Minnechaug GC, they've ruined Long Hill. Unkept tee boxes, poorly mowed fairways, filthy carts (mold under the canopy, brake release did not work, the rubber cover on the brake pedal was missing which I found comical since I saw several of these covers lying on the ground near the "un"-pro shop which no one could bother to pick up. The cart also had a smashed windshield, and was received filthy throughout) this is if you are lucky enough to even get a cart, there is a big shortage of carts in which the MDM "Mis"-Management Co seems to have at other courses as well (Goodwin/Keney) and does nothing about. There are hundreds of empty beer cans strewn throughout the un-weed whacked course, obviously a large shortage of trash cans, ball washers, the only drinking water offered on the course is a few small drinking fountains in which none worked-as did not the fountains that used to spray in the ponds. There were many completely un-maintained bunkers with grass growing in them. Many of the flag sticks were missing hardware to keep the flag on the pin. The desolate pro shop has about three shirts and 1 bag all from the Reagan Administration. The scorecard I received was literally a poor copy on actual office printer paper and ripped in half manually. How can you not even provide a scorecard?? They don't even have scissors! This place is an all around mess. They want full price for a half ass course. Don't waste your time. They do not deserve your business or anyone else's. shame on you MDM.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: August 3, 2013 | Cost: $40


GearmanKen
Cromwell, CT
4 Reviews
Quarry Ridge Golf Club of Portland, CT
  
Always a friendly, polite, inviting voice on the phone who is willing to accommodate and just as friendly upon entering their bountiful, well stocked pro shop. The club house is surrounded by beautifully kept flower beds. There is a polite cart attendant who will issue you a clean, gas filled cart. The course is impeccable. Well kept tee boxes, visible yardage markers, well posted directions to next holes. The fairways are lush, the greens are well maintained, as are the bunkers. Plenty of trash cans, ball washers and drinking water throughout. One of the best courses I've ever played and will definitely continue to do so. This course wants your business and is truly worthy of it.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: July 28, 2013 | Cost: $31


GearmanKen
Cromwell, CT
4 Reviews
Cedar Ridge Golf Course of East Lyme, CT
  
This was a treat to say the least. I called a few courses near the shoreline to see if I could play while my wife tagged along (she doesnt play) before grabbing a seafood dinner for our anniversary. The gentleman on the phone was more than happy to accommodate us without any silly "extra charge" just for having the wife in the cart with me (as do many other courses). The layout of the course was interesting as the conditions were impeccable. The greens were flawless, the fairways lush and the tee boxes well kept with plenty of ball washers, trash cans throughout. The starter even drove up to a larger group in front of us and asked if we could play through. It's a short-executive type course but is as good as they get. No complaints whatsoever. Will return again next year with or without the wife! Thanks to the friendly staff.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: July 13, 2013 | Cost: $18


GearmanKen
Cromwell, CT
4 Reviews
Indian Springs Golf Club of Middlefield, CT
  
A great little course. Very well kept. Greens were perfect, the fairways were lush, and I thoroughly enjoyed the course layout. This is a wonderfully hilly course that is still very walkable. The views from some of the fairways are spectacular especially at 6 am. Couldn't ask for anything more. One of my top 5 favorite local courses. Well done Indian Springs.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: July 6, 2013 | Cost: $21


rosencm
Stamford, CT
7 Reviews
Sterling Farms Golf Course of Stamford, CT
  
Very nice municipal course. Well maintained with a fairly spread apart layout, but easily walked. The greens are usually in good shape. Very difficult to get a weekend tee time. If you tee off after 8am be prepared for a 5 hour round due to the popularity.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: May 4, 2013 | Cost: $25


rosencm
Stamford, CT
7 Reviews
  
Not the prettiest layout but the course is always in pretty good shape. Greens are usually very nice. A lot of the more serious golfers play the other Stamford municipal course, Sterling Farms, but it is much more difficult to get tee times. A good course for a practice round or beginners, but also a fine course to play when no other options are available.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: April 13, 2013 | Cost: $25


happy2012
Norwalk, CT
1 Reviews
  
Well i was back in town after living out of the country, so i got together with some old friends and we all decide to go back to out old nighborhood gulf course at Oak Hills Course in Norwalk CT. Not the same as it was when we played while we where young and in our teens! The course still felt the same bbut i had a good old time and we had fun and alot of old and new momories..thanks

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: October 1, 2012 | Cost: $25


rosencm
Stamford, CT
7 Reviews
  
One of the more difficult courses in the area, but well worth the possible high score. Good value for the price and the course is usually very well manicured. Fantastic opening hole gives you a great look at an easy tee shot, but after that buckle down. Back nine starts off tight but fair. This course tests your mental game more than many others I’ve played. If you get through the 10 holes with a smile, you’re probably in for a good day. Well worth the money and probable drive

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: August 18, 2012 | Cost: $80


rosencm
Stamford, CT
7 Reviews
Great River Golf Club of Milford, CT
  
Fantastic course, which you definitely pay for. Greens, fairways, layout, service- are all what you should expect from a course of this price. I try to play it once a year, preferably in the off-season at a discounted rate. If you don’t mind paying up, you will not regret playing this course, definitely the top tier of CT courses you can play.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: July 18, 2012 | Cost: $120